Faculty

Faculty

Adaska, John

Department of Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
Research Interest: Gastrointestinal disease of cattle, Diagnostic pathology.

Email: jmadaska@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Aly, Sharif 

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest:
Dairy cattle infectious disease epidemiology.

Email: saly@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Angelos, John 

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest:
Internal medicine and infectious diseases of food producing animals, pathogenesis and prevention of infectious bovine keratoconjunctivitis, pharmacokinetics of antibiotics in ruminants, and development of improved vaccination/vaccine delivery strategies to support sustainable food production practices.
Email: jaangelos@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Ardeshir, Amir

California National Primate Research Center
Research Interest: Non-human primates, mucosal immunity.

Email: aardeshir@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Atwill, E. Robert 

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest:
Epidemiology and medical ecology of infectious disease transmitted between livestock, wildlife and humans.
E-mail: ratwill@vmtrc.ucdavis.edu

Faculty Page

Barker, Christopher

Center for Vectorborne Diseases
Research Interest:
Climate and landscape factors driving mosquito-borne virus transmission, systems for control of arboviruses, transmission risk and pathogen transmission. 
E-mail: cmbarker@ucdavis.edu

Faculty Page

Boyce, Walter

Emeritus

Chigerwe, Munashe

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest:
Food animal production medicine, passive transfer of immunity in calves. 
E-mail: mchigerwe@ucdavis.edu

Faculty Page

Chomel, Bruno

Emeritus

Christopher, Mary

Department of Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
Research Interest: Veterinary clinical pathology and laboratory medicine.

Email: mmchristopher@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Clifford, Deana

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Disease of free-ranging wildlife, endangered species conservation.

Email: dlclifford@ucdavis.edu

Conlon, Kathryn

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Topics relating to climate change in an urban setting and adaptation strategies to protect human health in a changing climate.
Email: kcconlon@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Conrad, Patricia

Department of Pathology, Microbiology & Immunology
Research Interest: One Health research approach to global human, animal (wild & domestic) and environmental health problems, Antigenic and molecular characterization of protozoal parasites,  Mechanisms of pathogenesis in hemoprotozoal and coccidial parasites, Waterborne zoonotic protozoal and bacterial pathogens in watershed and marine ecosystems.
Email: paconrad@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Crossley, Beate

Department of Virology & Biotechnology, California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory
Research Interest:
Mammalian virology, food animal emphasis. 
E-mail: bcrossley@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Depenbrock, Sarah

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Email: smdepenbrock@ucdavis.edu
Research Interests: Antimicrobial use and resistance in livestock as relates to bovine respiratory disease and calf management practices
Faculty Page

Farver, Thomas

Emeritus

Ferreira, Fernanda

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Economics and management of dairy production systems, Economics of heat stress, Economics of herd health strategies, Precision dairy technology, Calf and heifer management systems.
Email: fcferreira@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Foley, Janet

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest:
Epidemiology of vectorborne disease, simulation and analytic modeling of infectious disease persistence and emergence in nature, conservation ecology and disease. 
E-mail: jefoley@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Gilardi, Kirsten

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Ecosystem health, diseases of free-ranging wildlife.

Email: kvgilardi@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Goldstein, Tracey

Department of Pathology, Immunology and Microbiology, One Health Institute
Research Interest: Emerging viral disease, One Health.
Email: tgoldstein@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Hawkins, Michelle

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: C
ritical care and diseases of birds of prey in the rehabilitation environment, with an emphasis on the urban:wildlife interface.
Email: mghawkins@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Hill, Ashley

California Animal Health and Food Safety Laboratory
Research Interest:
Clinical immunology, interpretation of livestock and poultry serology, diagnostic test evaluation and validation. 
E-mail: aehill@ucdavis.edu 
Faculty Page

Hird, David

Emeritus

Imai, Denise

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Diagnostic pathology, laboratory animals, wildlife.
Email: dmimai@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Johnson, Christine Kreuder

Wildlife Health Center/One Health Institute
Research Interest:
Ecosystem-level processes and emerging infectious disease in wildlife. 
E-mail: ckjohnson@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Kass, Philip

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest:
Non-experimental inference, epidemiologic methodology, analytical epidemiology of environmental hazards of animals and humans, companion animal epidemiology.
E-mail: phkass@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Kelly, Terra

Wildlife Health Center
Research Interest: Emerging infectious disease, wildlife medicine.

Email: trkelly@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Klingborg, Donald

Emeritus

Lehenbauer, Terry

Veterinary Medicine Teaching and Research Center
Research Interest: Dairy cattle herd health and production medicine with an emphasis on infectious disease epidemiology, risk management and animal health economics, especially related to bovine respiratory disease, mastitis, and antimicrobial stewardship.

Email: tlehenbauer@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Li, Chin-Shang

Department of Public Health Sciences
Research Interest:
Lack-of-fit tests, cure models, semiparametric and nonparametric regression, generalized linear models, longitudinal data analysis, statistical methods for genetic data, large sample theory. 
E-mail: cssli@ucdavis.edu 
Faculty Page

Madigan, John

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Equine and Comparative Neurology, Neonatal medicine, Transition of consciousness at birth in infants and neonatal foals, Trigeminal Mediated Headshaking, Infectious disease.

Email: jemadigan@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Maier, Gabriele

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest:
Beef cattle herd health and welfare, Association of management factors with incidence and prevalence of disease; development of on-farm measures and plans for disease prevention; scoring systems for diagnosis of bovine respiratory disease, Risk assessment and economics for preventive measures in beef cattle production systems, Judicious use of antimicrobials and anti-parasitic drugs in cattle, Beef quality assurance and food safety, Infectious disease epidemiology.

Email: gumaier@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Martinez-Lopez, Beatriz

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Quantitative Epidemiology: Spatial analysis, Risk analysis, Disease spread models, social network analysis, statistical analysis (both Frequentists and Bayesian).

Email: beamartinezlopez@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Mazet, Jonna

Wildlife Health Center/One Health Institute
Research Interest:
Promotion of wellness at wildlife-human-domestic animal interface, disease ecology, role of health in recovery and conservation of endangered species. 
E-mail: jkmazet@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

McCowan, Brenda

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Animal health, management and well-being; Wildlife conservation; Bioacoustics; Ethology.

Email: bjmccowan@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

McNabb, Brett

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Livestock Herd Health and Reproduction, VMTH
Research Interest: B
eef cattle and small ruminant herd health. Livestock reproductive disease diagnosis and management, assisted reproductive technology.
Email: brmcnabb@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Pandey, Pramod

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: To derive engineering solutions (involving veterinarians, engineers, specialist, farm managers, and dairy farmers) for controlling microbial pathogens from animal waste.

Email: brmcnabb@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Pereira, Richard

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Livestock Herd Health and Reproduction Service
Research Interest: Emergence, persistence and transmission ecology of antimicrobial resistant and zoonotic bacteria in livestock, with the aim of developing effective and feasible interventions to reduce and prevent the spread of drug resistance.
E-mail: rvpereira@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Pires, Alda

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest:  Quantitative methods to identify strategies that improve animal health and control infectious diseases in livestock on small-scale farms. Interested in applying and developing epidemiological tools to monitor potential food safety hazards and identify strategies to reduce the dissemination of foodborne pathogens in pre-harvest small farm environments and the spread of infectious disease in the food supply. Also interested in integrating epidemiological methods such as temporal-spatial, molecular analysis and risk assessment in order to support risk-based surveillance and infectious disease control strategies, and the improvement of animal health and food safety.
E-mail:  apires@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Pitesky, Maurice

Department of Population Health & Reproduction
Research Interest:
Application of classic and spatial epidemiology in disease surveillance, food safety management, and other processes associated with poultry health.
E-mail: mepitesky@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Rossow, Heidi

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Systems approach to explore interactions between nutrition, metabolism and disease and their effects on beef and dairy production.

Email: harossow@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Rowe, Joan

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest:
Infectious diseases, reproductive epidemiology in cattle, sheep and goats. 
E-mail: jdrowe@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Sajid, Muhammad Sohail

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Arthropods and arbo diseases of one health significance.
Email: mssajid@ucdavis.edu

Silva del Rio, Noelia

Department of Population Health and Reproduction
Research Interest: Herd health

Email: nsilvadelrio@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Smiley, Tierra

Wildlife Health Center
Research Interest: Emerging zoonotic diseases, ecosystem health, conservation of endangered species.
Email: tsmevans@ucdavis.edu

Smith, Woutrina

Wildlife Health Center/One Health Institute 
Research Interest: Zoonotic diseases at human/animal/environment interface. 
Email: wasmith@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Soto, Esteban

Department of Medicine and Epidemiology
Research Interest: Fish health, aquatic ecosystem health, microbiology.

Email: sotomartinez@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Stover, Susan

Department of Anatomy, Physiology, and Cell Biology
Research Interest: Musculoskeletal Injury Epidemiology, Pathogenesis, and Biomechanics: The primary research focus is the epidemiology, pathogenesis, and biomechanics of repetitive, overuse injuries in equine athletes.

Email: smstover@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Thurmond, Mark

Emeritus

Williams, Deniece

Veterinary Medicine Teaching and Research Center
Research Interest: Dairy production, epidemiology and herd health.

Email: dvmwilliams@ucdavis.edu
Faculty Page

Ziccardi, Michael

Wildlife Health Center/One Health Institute
Research Interest: Rescue and treatment of birds and marine mammals affected by oil spills. 
E-mail: mhziccardi@ucdavis.edu

Faculty Page